Power supply for ESP8266-01

Hi, I am new to IoT projects. I have some doubts in supplying power to the ESP8266-01 wifi module. I searched and found that the 3.3V from the Arduino Uno is not sufficient to power the module as it only supplies up to 50mA. So could I use a LM1117 regulator to step down the 5V from the Arduino pin to power the ESP8266? As I do not want to have an external power supply to power it. I will use a 12V 2A AC-DC adapter to plug in the barrel jack to operate the Arduino. Another question is if I supply power through barrel jack and have all the components connected to the 5V pin of the Arduino, is it not sufficient to power them if the total current consumption of the components is higher than 50mA?

It would be a lot lot better for your electronics to supply 7.5 to 9 volts to the Uno, via the wall wart. By supplying 12V and that the Uno is using only 5V, the rest of the available 'power' is thrown away as heat.

Do not power the ESP8266 from the Arduino 5V pin. Instead you can tap off of the barrel connector, solder and wires, the incoming 7.5V to 9V, send it to a 3.3V regulator such as a MCP-1700. Not super for the 3.3V regulator but from the situation described, workable.

Thank you for your reply. What do you mean by tap off? My project involves other components like load cell, 2 LED, buzzer and 16x2 LCD. If possible I would like to have only one power supply to operate all of these components.

'tap off' you know like how there is a fire hydrant and the fire hydrant has several taps for hoses of various sizes. Like a 4 inch, 6 inch 8 inch hose. Each hose tap would be like a different voltage regulator using one source. got it? No? Don't know how better to explain it to you.

Got it. Thank you for your time. :slight_smile: