Power Supply With Battery Packs

I have a question about how to get a power supply from a battery pack to work on the Arduino. I'm new with robotics, so sorry if this question is noobish. Would a battery pack for 4 AAA batteries be enough to power it? And to hook up the battery pack to the DC plug, should I just take an old connector, strip the wire and connect it to the battery packs? Thanks in advance.

Would a battery pack for 4 AAA batteries be enough to power it?

No that would only give you 6V (nominal) which is not enough over the 5V for the regulators to work. On the other hand you could use 3 of them and feed them straight into the 5V. As the Arduino will work on less than 5V.

So 6V would damage the arduino? And the battery holder i have has 4 slots, so would the thing work with only 3 batteries? And could i add a resistor to take away some of the volts?

EDIT: the battery pack uses 4 AA batteries, not tripple A like i said before sorry

So 6V would damage the arduino?

No, operation would just be unreliable. The on-board voltage regulator would not be able to create a stable 5v. This would get progressively worse as the batteries start to die.

And the battery holder i have has 4 slots, so would the thing work with only 3 batteries?

As long as you replace the battery with some kind of jumper. Most battery holders expect a continuous circuit. An alternative might be to use rechargeable batteries. They tend to run around 1.2V per battery, so four of those would be very close to 5V.

And could i add a resistor to take away some of the volts?

That's not how electricity (and resistors) work. Resistors drop a voltage, based on the amount of current that flows through them. So as your Arduino project does different things, the resistor will be dropping different voltages. Additionally, the resistor is just going to burn (waste) power. Generally when you are running off of a battery, you don't want to just waste energy.