Power transformer monitoring device

Hello friends,

I am new to this site and I am happy yo say that it is a place rich in resources.

A little introduction, I am an electrical engineer specializing in power engineering. I am working on a project that involves real-time monitoring of power transformers. The parameters I am interested in are the operating status of the transformer (on/off), temperature of the transformer, the percentage loading of the transformer and sent the results real-time on-line. I am looking at sending it via SIM module(GPRS/EDGE/HSPDA/4G) and I want two sim modules for redundancy.

Can I get any help from this forum?

The parameters I am interested in are the operating status of the transformer (on/off)

I’m not sure how you “turn off” a transformer but you can us a smaller transformer (with a rectifier, etc.) or if the voltage isn’t too high, an optical isolator to monitor input or output voltage.

temperature of the transformer

There are easy-to-use analog temperature sensors (such as the LM34/LM35) or temperature sensors with an I2C interface. (There is an Arduino I2C library.)

the percentage loading of the transformer

Do you have a way of measuring current? A hall-effect current sensor would be the “typical” choice, but I don’t now how much current you’re trying to measure. You can also use a current transformer, which may be more appropriate for higher-power but the Arduino can’t read negative voltages (it can be damaged by negative voltages) so you’ll have to “deal with” the AC.

I am looking at sending it via SIM module(GPRS/EDGE/HSPDA/4G) and I want two sim modules for redundancy.

I assume you’ll want two complete “systems”. And if you are monitoring for power loss, of course you’ll need a battery backup.

Are you "power engineer" enough to find suitable actors (on/off switch) and sensors for the transformer?

If so, give us links to all used items (data sheets, libraries...) for further assistance.