Power wheels fire truck lights feasibility

I am trying to make a lightbar and corner flashers for my sons power wheels Jeep turning it into a fire truck/brush truck I would like to know if I can program a 16 button moment push 4x4 keypad (like a phone key pad) while programming different light patterns for each button.... When each button is pushed it would end the current light pattern that was flashing to a different light pattern.

I'm new to the whole arduino experience. I was searching for a good program and circuitboard where I could program my own lights and I stumbled upon this. I am semi advanced into electronics having a avionics associates degree and working with class III electronics Trouble shooting on a daily basis. I understand programming to a point (I made my own games for the Ti-83+ calculator from scratch, and "some" computer basic.

Requirements:
-I have 8 LED light heads (12-13.9v .5A output rating required for each channel)
-I want to program 16 different light patterns on a 16 button momentary keypad

Seeing that this board looks promising with all the accessories they make for this board.......
Will this Arduino series serve for the purpose I need????
What hardware would I need to construct this using the light heads I have?
-What type of arduino board Do I need? Arduino Mega??
-16 monetary button keypad, 4x4 matrix??

-I don't want to use the Arduino 8 relay board because I don't want all that clicking, I am going to use a "tip120" transistor for each output making it a positive switched output for the 8+ channels (if I add more channels)

everyone's help is much appreciated, right now I just want to know if this is all feasible?? And what hardware do I need if this would work for the purpose I need it for??. Thank you!!

Just to be clear, am i reading that a 500mA or 5A current requirement?