Powering 12V motor through shield and external power

Hello everyone,

Let me begin by saying I'm completely new to Arduino. I am attempting to use the Arduino as a relay to turn a motor different directions based on input voltages. I am using the Uno with a Seeed motor shield.

-I created the code, and bench tested the setup with success....but only attempted using the Arduino USB as a power source (with low voltage motor). -I then connected the setup using 12V external power supply to the motor shield (with no motor connected) and saw 9v at the motor jacks, reversing polarity as intended. -When I hooked up a 12V (0.6A max) motor, i'm seeing reversing polarity as intended, but only at 2.7V.

Any ideas?

I apologize in advance if this has been covered.

Thanks!

What is the 12V supply? Can it generate enough current? Are you using PWM?

Circuit diagram?

Is that 12V current going to the motor via the Vin header? Take care on the current draw - Vin is connected after the reverse polarity protection diode, so you will see some voltage loss there, and the diode is only rated for 1A.

Otherwise, provide a link to the motor shield.

I then connected the setup using 12V external power supply to the motor shield (with no motor connected) and saw 9v at the motor jacks, reversing polarity as intended.

If by "saw" , you mean "read on a DMM" , are you aware that using a DMM to measure a PWM signal is only going to give you the average voltage because there is no steady state voltage since PWM by definition means switching from Vcc to GND ? Comparing your steady state power supply voltage with the average voltage on the motor terminals is all but useless (pointless). If you put a scope on the motor terminals you will "see" the signal.

When I hooked up a 12V (0.6A max) motor, i'm seeing reversing polarity as intended, but only at 2.7V.