Powering 4 x Sharp GP2D120 IR Sensor and Tamiya 70097 Motor

Hi all!
This is my first post so please tell me if there are any things I’m doing wrong/ could improve on! I’m relatively new to mechatronics and am working on a university project to build a “one-button-start” vehicle to navigate a track and climb a step.

The mechatronics aspect of our design consists of 4 x Sharp GP2D120 IR Sensor, a Tamiya 70097 Twin Gearbox Motor and we are using an Arduino Eleven (essentially Arduino uno) board. I was just wondering what would be the best way to power all these? I was thinking I could run the sensors via an external power source (4x1.5V batteries with a voltage regulator to bring it down to 5) and then run the motor via the board (2x1.5V batteries). This seems logical to me however as I said I’m very new and this may be completely wrong.

The specs for the motor and sensors are:

Tamiya Motor:
Typical Operating Voltage: 3V
Free-run current (no-load current when disconnected from gears, so total no-load current will be slightly higher) @ 3V: 150mA
Stall current @ 3V: 2100mA

Sharp GP2D120 Sensors:
Supply voltage: 4.5 to 5.5V (I’ve read that 4.5V isn’t enough so probably more like 5-5.5V)
Consumption current: Typ. 30mA

There some more specs for each but I didn’t want to clutter the post so I think these are most relevant.

Anyway thanks in advance for all the help! Let me know if you need any more information :slight_smile:

and then run the motor via the board (2x1.5V batteries).

What does this mean? The Arduino will not supply the proper voltage or anywhere near enough current - those motors need 4+ amps at stall speed. Which board are you referring to?