Powering 5 servo motors.

Hello everyone, I am new to robotics and making a small project involving 5 servo motors (SG90 micro servo) operating voltage of 5 volts. I am confused that to power all servos separately from arduino should i be using two 12volt batteries in series or is there any other alternative possible for the power management. The robot will be wireless controlled bot so I might use an Xbee shield as well. so i am guessing seperate power supply will be required for the arduino uno and the shield. Please suggest the optimal batteries i should go for. Thank you

The problem with servos is they draw big pulses of current, perhaps 1A each when they move or when their movement is resisted - this means the battery voltage will droop or drop-out briefly as this happens (especially as the batteries get low on charge) and any microcontroller running on the same supply will crash or reboot all the time - unacceptable.

So you may want to consider a 6V pack just for the servos. If your main power is 12V you could have a DC-DC converter with a large enough current rating to drop this for the servos. In fact you might get away with doing this for the Arduino as well, using another 5V DC-DC converter as the 12V supply can then dip to 5V or so without losing power to the microcontroller - the DC-DC converter helps isolate the delicate circuitry from the spikes/dropouts and noise generated by motors and servos.

I find you always seem to have more effort sorting out power than you would like, it seems such a trivial thing, but poor/inadequate power supply will always create grief...

It sounds like you're assuming that you need 5V per servo and are hoping that the 24V you can get from two 12V batteries will provide it. This is not true - you need 5V irrespective of how many servos you have - although you'll likely have substantially fewer if you do hook them up to a 24V supply.