Powering 9 Sensors with Arduino Mega?

Hi, first of all,I'm new to Arduino and I'm not an EE person, I'm more of a programmer guy so do forgive me if I ask stupid questions.

|500x371

All those black boxes on the diagram are Hall Effect Sensors which consume around 9mA max?(if i'm not wrong) Here is the datasheet. http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/1538021.pdf 9x9mA will be 81mA.

So I am connecting 9 Hall Effect Sensors to the Arduino Mega 2560 , I am taking the outputs from the sensors and feeding it into the analog inputs of the Arduino.

The Arduino will read the analog inputs and pass it to my PC via USB(Serial)

Now here is my problem: 1. Is Arduino Mega alone enough to power up all the 9 Hall Effect Sensors? 2. Will it cause any false readings? 3. Will it overheat? 4. Since I plugged in a wall adapter and USB together, which power source will arduino draw from?The wall or my PC? 5. Will my Serial communication be affected if I plug in both the 9V and USB?

Thanks for reading my post.

Typical 6.9mA, times nine makes 62mA. Is it a regulator 9V power supply ? ( 9 - 0.6 - 5 ) * 0.062 = 211 mW

That means that the voltage regulator is extra heated with 211 mW. I think that is no problem. Unless you have also many leds.

The power supply to the power jack takes over the USB power when that voltage is above 7.5V. You can plug in the power supply while the Arduino board is running and also usb power, and unplug and whatever. The Arduino Mega will keep running fine.

Hi, thanks for the reply.

Yes, I believe it is a regulator 9V power supply. May I know what is the formula you just used to calculate the power? So I can use it to calculate if I were to add more sensors in the future?

Alright, about the power supply, with that said, so can I assume that the Serial Communication will work fine too?

The onboard 5volt regulator is rated at 800mA. The board could use ~100mA, so there is 700mA left.