Powering an Arduino and system with 24VAC

Hey guys/gals,

I'll just throw this out as a disclaimer... I'm not a electrical engineer by any stretch of the imagination... I know just enough to be dangerous. :slight_smile: ...but I'm learning!

I'm working on a little project over the holidays and have run into a small issue. I know this has been covered before and there are a few options, but this is a bit different from the other post. I'm working on a actuator that utilizes a stepper motor that I'm driving with a Arduino Nano. The stepper controller (TB6600) works fine when I'm powering the Nano from the USB port, but when I apply power from my power circuit the motor just clicks a bit.

I'm using the 24VAC to power the stepper controller and therefore the stepper itself though a full bridge rectifier with a 100uF cap on the output. This seems to work fine.

I'm also using the 24VAC to make 5VDC... Half wave rectification (diode) to the input side of a 7805, input side also has a 10uF cap, with a 100uF cap on the output... puts out a stable 4.96VDC with everything running. Seems kosher.

I'm using one side of the 24VAC supply as a common ground for the 5V portion. (The neg side of the full wave rectified is not connected to this.)

Now, again, I can ground the controller to my power supply common ground and power the nano from the USB port, and everything works as intended, but the second I power the Nano from the 7805 circuit, the stepper motor just clicks.

Anyone with better electronics mojo than me have any thoughts? Thanks in advance!

Chad

I think you need to sketch up a schematic. It can be hand drawn. Without it we are only guessing about the details...... and you know the saying.... "the devil is in the details"

John

I see a few questionable details, but without seeing a schematic, as JonRob said, we would be just guessing. We don't like to guess.

Gotcha! Schematic should be attached…