Powering an Arduino Mini Light rev 05

Hi,

I'm looking for some guidance on how to correctly power my Arduino Mini Light 05. I'm currently powering it through another Arduino Duemi board using the 5v pin and I would like to know what options I have for powering this device! I'm using the board for a LED lighting project with 12v LEDs. It is possible to use the 12v to power the Arduino Mini? Can I somehow get the voltage down to 9v or 5v? Should I prefer 9v over 5v?

I'm an electronics noob so please keep that in mind when answering!

Thanks a lot

"Operating Voltage 5V"
"Input Voltage 7-9 V"

Looks like you can feed it regulated 5V or unregulated 7 to 9V.

Cool .. thanks John!

So to power my leds I have a regulated 12v supply. Can I somehow attach that to the Arduino as instead of needing to have another 5v power supply? E.g. can I power down the 12v to 5v using a resistor or voltage regulator of some kind?

You can use a 5V linear regulator to get regulated 5V from your 12V supply or you could use a 7V to 9V linear regulator to get 7V to 9V from your 12V supply and then feed that to the onboard regulator.

Resistor voltage dividers don't work for a load heavier than an analog input (very low load) because the load acts as a resistor itself and changes the characteristics of the voltage divider.

Thanks a lot John, awesome! I've been looking around and found these TracoPower DC/DC converters that take up to 32V and convert it to 5V.

US: Mini DC/DC Step-Down (Buck) Converter - 5V @ 1A output [TSR12450] : ID 1065 : $14.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits
EUR: http://www.conrad.nl/ce/nl/product/156673/DCDC-omzetter-TSR-1-serie-1-A-TracoPower-TSR-1-2450in65-32-VDC-out-5-VDC-1-A-1-A

Those would solve my problem, but I'll also have to mount the components to something which makes me wonder if I shouldn't just go for the Arduino Pro.