Powering arduino with 12V Battery - issues

Hi,

I plan to power an Arduino from a 12V battery (arduino has its own regulator so that should be ok) BUT the same battery also powers a pretty strong motor (its for an alectric GO KART) and I kinda fear if its ok for arduino to be under "such stress" like one second the motor draws 0 current and in the next a looot more ... and this like 20x a minute ...

Could this be a problem for an arduino? And if so, what could be the solution?

Sorry but im no electrician :frowning:

Thank you

Oliver

Regarding current drawn from the battery: It really shouldn’t matter, until the motor draws so much current, that the voltage dips significantly.

However, electric motors are very noisy, and that could disturb your arduino.

I’ve had a similar problem, and ended up just powering the arduino from a separate 9V battery. It was the easiest thing to do.

You could use a couple of capacitors to filter and smooth the power to the arduino.

Yeah... A couple of things can happen...

If the voltage drops below about 5 or 6V when the battery is "stressed" (especially if it's partially drained) the Arduino could reset.

There is also back-EMF from the motor when the motor driver switches. That's reverse voltage, which could damage the Arduino.

There's a 99% chance that the motor driver takes care of back EMF, but to be safe add a diode in series with the power to the Arduino.

A capacitor between Vin and ground can hold the voltage for a short period of time during a voltage drop or "glitch" (along with the diode to prevent the capacitor discharging into the motor or other circuitry). The capacitor should be rated 16V or more* and I'd use at least 1000uF. The higher the value (uF) the longer it will hold it's charge.