Powering by Solar Panel Help - New to this

Hi,

I’m very new to Arduino and this is my first project. I’m sure I’m missing something basic and hoping someone can shed some light on this.

I have an Arduino Leonardo and plugged in to it is a micro servo and a PIR. (See picture attached). When plugged in to the wall or computer via USB all works great.

I picked up a small solar panel from my local microcenter and thought I could power this with the panel plugged in to the barrel port on the arduino.

It’s the SC10072 http://osepp.com/products/solar-cells-arduino-compatible/ which says it is 7.2V and 100mA

If I get a decent source of light my voltmeter does show a voltage above 7V. When I plug it in and get to a nice light source the little green led on the arduino board turns on, though no other lights turn on and nothing else happens.

Is this just not enough V or AMPs? Am I missing something regarding powering these with solar panels? The people at microcenter thought I could just plug it in and it would work.

Thanks for any help given!

crickeys:
The people at microcenter thought I could just plug it in and it would work.

So now you know that they know zilch.

Your solar panel cannot produce enough current even in bright sunshine. It probaby doesn't even provide enough for the servo, never mind the rest of the kit.

But buying a bigger solar panel is not the complete answer either. You need a rechargeable battery that is kept topped up by the solar panel and which can supply enough current either when the light is a bit less bright or when the Arduino needs a bit more current.