Powering large quantities of LEDs and shift register fun

Hi there. So I'm new to arduino and electronics in general (only been playing with them for about 3 weeks now, but I'd like to think I've learned a lot).

But so here today a little box came in with 10 74HC595's (5 for me, 5 for my friend miguel) Played around a little. Can make them drive some LEDs to light up in pretty little patterns. But so for overall knowledge so that down the road when I'm plotting an idea. Say instead of running 24 LEDs off of the 3 of them I have hooked up at. Say I wanted to run 80 or so LEDs, or even more, Yeah putting a little more resistance in each LED circuit will do a bit more to protect the uno and the shift registers from dealing with too much amperage. But down the road (witht he cheap ones I have) once you start getting into the 1kOhms in each line, the lights are below visible in daytime (I've got some others that you can still see fine even with that but those cost a little more).

So here is my dilemma, or maybe more my question. Say you had your arduino driving the thing with its 5V signals just like normal, nothing wrong with that (maybe a little delay though for writing to the registers). But instead of hooking the registers power and ground to the uno, I were to make a 5V power source (or more like 4.5, which is still within the 74HC595's operating range) out of 3 AA batteries in series, and hook the ground on the register to the - on the battery. Just wondering before I contemplate trying this. Am I going to be making the magic smoke this evening if I go and test this?

You can have multiple power supplies in your circuit, one to power the Arduino, and one to power the shifters and LEDs. The only catch is, you have to have a common ground, so connect the battery's ground with the Arduino's ground.

The only catch is, you have to have a common ground, so connect the battery's ground with the Arduino's ground.