Powering Leonardo w/ PSU and Reading Serial Monitor

Hi, I’m new to Arduino. Sorry if my post is long but I know its good to have all the facts.

I am trying to power my Arduino Leonardo with a AXT power supply, I also want to view the serial monitor via the micro-USB port on the board.

I have looked around at other posts and none really come close to what I am dealing with.

How its wired (See Image): I am using only 3 wires from the ATX connector: +12v, COM (GND), and PS_ON#. I have a switch connected to the PS_ON# and COM so that I can turn the Power Supply on and off. The +12v and COM are connected to a power distribution board which is where the barrel jack to power the Arduino is connected to.

All of that works great, now to my problem.

While the Arduino is connect via the barrel jack, if the power supply is unplugged, all switches off, but the Arduino is connected to the computer via the micro-USB, the Power Supply Fan starts to spin. After I saw this I disconnected the USB and then the barrel jack from the Arduino.

I then reconnect the Arduino to the computer via micro-USB and now Windows 10 will not recognize my board. I hear the connected then I hear it disconnect. Somehow I can still upload code by hitting the reset button right when the IDE starts to say uploading. But I cannot view the serial monitor since the computer doesn’t see the connection to the Arduino.

I know Leonardo boards seem to get this issue often (according to other posts) so I might need a different board (I currently only have the one).

But what do I need to do to the circuit to fix the issue of my PC powering the Power Supply Fan through the Arduino?

Thank you in advance

The fan coming on indicates that the PC is under load. It's powering the whole circuit through the USB. (If I am interpreting the location of the fan correctly.)

Here's the original photo...