Powering multiple 5V relays simultaneously

Hi,

Sorry if this is a trivial question, but I'm very new to electronics. I'm working on a project where I'll need to have multiple appliances powered at the same time using 5V relays. Can I power all the relays (let's say 5 of them) from the one 5V pin? Does it depend on the amperage?
If I have the relays in pins 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 and I run digitalWrite(4, HIGH); digitalWrite(5, HIGH); digitalWrite(6, HIGH); digitalWrite(7, HIGH); digitalWrite(8, HIGH);, will all stay activated? Thanks for any advice!

Peter

EDIT: It's a Nano, if that makes any difference.

Can I power all the relays (let's say 5 of them) from the one 5V pin?

No.
You should only draw between 20 and 30mA from a pin. That is not enough to drive even one relay that could switch mains. You need a transistor to boost the current to drive most relays.

Oh so that’s what’s important :frowning: Thanks, I’ll need to look more into relays and transistors.

Are you talking individual relays or a relay module? A module might be the easiest for you to implement, and they are fairly inexpensive. Just keep in mind opto-isolation. The board should have a jumper on it to isolate the logic side from the control voltages. You also need to know you will probably need another 5V power supply to run the coils with smaller uControllers or if you have other hardware running off the 5V rail.

Three things:

• Being new to electronics, probably not a good idea to be working with mains voltages [i.e. High Voltage].
    Get some electronic experience under your belt, first. Or, at least, read up on High Voltage safety precautions and techniques.
  • Assuming you plan to go ahead with this, another possibility is the Solid State Relay. And, assuming you're using an Arduino Uno, the one SS Relay I have experience with requires around 3mA of current to trigger it at 5V. That means you could wire 5 of these relays to one output.