Powering Nema 17 Stepper motor with a NiMH battery.

I am very new to Arduino's and electronics in general. I have learned a lot from the interwebs, but I can't figure this out from anything I've found so far. So, please be gentle.

I have built a camera slider for time-lapse photography that is driven by a Nema 17 Stepper Motor, an A4988 Driver, and controlled through my Arduino Uno. I normally power it with a 12v 2.0A wall-wart. It works flawlessly for many hours at a time. An example of use would be the slow transport of the camera gantry a distance of just 600mm over the course of 6 hours.

I was hoping to make this slider portable. I can run the Arduino for many hours with a USB phone-charger battery. But I was hoping to run the stepper motor off a battery as well. I have several large Anton Bauer Hytron 140 NiMH batteries for my video work. They were rated at 140WH @ 14.4V when new. They are older now and probably more like 100WH (pure guess).

What would I need to do to, or can I, power the stepper off one of these batteries for hours at a time? Would I need to run a voltage regulator inline so I can properly set the over-current limit on the driver? I ask because the battery fully charged has closer to 17V and then gets lower as used. I'm unsure about how the voltage drop affects the over-current limit setting on the driver board.

Here's the necessary specs:

Pololu A4988 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier, Black Edition ( Pololu - A4988 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier, Black Edition )
Min./Max. Operating Voltage: 8 - 35V
Continuous Current per Phase: 1.2A (heat sink added for higher amperage...closer to 2.0A)
Max. Current per Phase: 2.0A

NEMA 17 Stepper Motor ( http://cdn1.bigcommerce.com/server2300/itwgldve/products/105/images/1518/NEMA17__77109.1430428278.1280.1280.JPG?c=2 )
Rated 2.8VDC
Current per phase: 1.68A

Anton Bauer Hytron 140 NiMH Battery ( http://www.antonbauer.com/en- US/Shop/products/on-camera-batteries-logic-series-HyTRON-140-8675-0079 )