Powering Off Arduino with P-Mosfet

HI, I am in the process of building a project (reverse geocache), and need a littte help with completely powering off my UNO board 10 (or so) seconds after a temporary switch has been pressed to power it on. I have read quite a few topics on here about it, but i cannot find one that answers my question exactly. I believe that a P-MOSFEt is what i need to use, but i need some help with wiring diagrams and sketch ideas please? Thanks :)

Hi,
Look at this ciruit, from @CrossRoads
powerDown.jpg

Tom… :slight_smile:

Hi Tom,
Thanks for that. Unfortunately, that schematic is a little confusing to me as I’m a real newbie and have only worked with simple projects so far.
What is the NPN used for?, and do those two resistors need to be added to the circuit or is one of them already incorporated into the MOSFET?
Also any chance of some coding to add to my sketch to make it all work please?

This is my sketch so far … (thanks to /dev for simplifying it)

Reverse_Geocache.ino (3.59 KB)

Hi, The explanation with the diagram explains.

The P-MOSFET is the switch, the NPN transisitor is used via the controller to hold the MOSFET ON after the button is pressed for a moment or to. Then in your code you tuen the NPN OFF when you need to power down, this turns the MOSFET OFF.

I am at work now, but later if someone hasn't helped you, I'll do a better basic explanation.

If you look up how a MOSFET works and a BJT that will help.

Tom.. :)

Thanks Tom .. that would be appreciated

What is the NPN used for?

When the switch is pushed, the NPN transistor (under program control) maintains a short across the switch. Therefore the P MOS FET stays on after the switch is let go.

When the sketch turns the NPN transistor off, the MOS FET removes power from the controller.