Powering Stepper Motor + Uno + Easydriver with Solar Panel + One Battery

I am trying to build an automatic chicken door closer and bought these parts:

I got a NEMA 17 stepper motor here:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/121680099003

EasyDriver:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/A3967-Stepper-Motor-Driver-Controller-EasyDriver-v4-4-Un-Soldered-Arduino-Pi-/252206484022?var=&hash=item3ab8ad8a36:m:m6vlosGKsE25CUGky7onGVQ

And the Arduino Uno.

It cant be mains powered because the chicken coop is outside!

I would like to power this ideally with solar power and battery.

The chicken coop only needs to open and close once a day.

How would I power the Arduino and the stepper motor on a single battery/solar panel? Arduino needs 3.3V-5V and the motor requires 2.8V

I am a complete noob, so bare with me

Do you have a specific question?

Sorry, I edited the original post for more clarification

dolanmiu: Sorry, I edited the original post for more clarification

Thanks. What sort (and size) of battery and solar panel do you have in mind?

And the specs for that stepper motor say 12V, not 2.8V.

A stepper motor is very unlikely to be suitable for that application for a few reasons.

• First, stepper motors are very inefficient and you will have limited electricity available.
  • Second, a stepper motor needs full power to stay in position even when it is not moving.
  • Third, the Arduino cannot tell what position a stepper motor starts at so there is need a for an external HOME or ZERO switch and code that moves the motor until it triggers that switch to tell the Arduino that the motor is at the home position.
  • Fourth, stepper motors work best with high voltages and specialized stepper drivers

I suggest you use a DC motor with a worm gear. It will hold position without any power. You will need limit switches to detect when the door is fully open or fully closed - but you would need at least one of them with the stepper motor anyway.

...R Stepper Motor Basics