Powering the Arduino Mega 2560 PRO (Embed)

Apologies if I have posted this to the wrong topic.

I recently got myself the Arduino Mega 2560 PRO (Embed) and I am wondering if I can power this by applying regulated 5V to the 5V pin.

I looked through the documents provided and it does not mention anything related to this. There's also a schematic available in the link, but as an electronics beginner I don't understand it.

I am wondering if I can power this by applying regulated 5V to the 5V pin.

That is a good way to power the board.

Avoid powering through the Vin or power jack, if possible, because the onboard 5V regulator* is not well heat sinked and can easily overheat and shut down if too much current is drawn by the peripherals on the 5V rail.

*the link says that the regulator is good for 1 Amp, but I would take that with a large grain of salt. It may well be good for 1 Amp with proper heat sinking, but that is certainly not the case in this application.

magicpanda:
I recently got myself the Arduino Mega 2560 PRO (Embed) and I am wondering if I can power this by applying regulated 5V to the 5V pin.

Not only can you power it by applying regulated 5 V to the "5V" pin, that is the only way you should power it if you intend to connect anything else to the board. And I very much suspect that you do want to connect other things to it as it is only really decorative otherwise. :grinning:

As groundFungus points out and I also frequently do out of great frustration, the "onboard 5V regulator*" is present only in order to resemble the original Mega 2560 design and is essentially useless.