Powering the Arduino with batteries along with 2A switch

Hello all,

I am fairly new to arduino as well as electronics, and I need a bit of advice

I did some reading up and found that using a 9V battery does power the arduino just fine but won't last nearly as long as 6 AA in series,

The only problem with that is that the current is much higher, and I'm wondering if i need to be concerned with a switch I will have connected will blow out, it is rated for 2A:

So my end goal is to make the battery last decently long while having this switch somewhere in there,

Thank you,
Derick

I don't know what you are talking about, but the Arduino by itself draws very little current.
10s of milliamps.

I might be asking the wrong question, wish I knew more

So the setup is 6AAs to 2A switch to arduino with 2 LEDs in parallel

A .5 or 1 amp switch would be more that enough for this.

What is your project?

You seem to be confusing the amps-that-a-battery-can-deliver with the amps-that-a-load-demands. Your switch only needs to be suitable for the load demand - it can be meatier if you wish but as others have suggested, anything that can handle 1/2 amp or so will be more than sufficient.

haskamonkies:
I might be asking the wrong question, wish I knew more

So the setup is 6AAs to 2A switch to arduino with 2 LEDs in parallel

Your description is still a bit ambiguous, perhaps you should draw the circuit on a piece of paper, and post a picture of it.

However, in general, if you are powering an Arduino and two LEDs with 9 volts, then your current draw will be about 100 ma, or a tenth of an amp. (That is 60ma from the Arduino, and 20ma from each LED, assuming they are the small 'bulb' type with two thin wires.)