Powering up LEDS

If I wanted to power up maybe 50 to 100 LED. How much power do I need and how would they be wired up. One switch would turn them all on. Also would like to add a dimmer.

Thanks

Anything from 50 to 100mA up to 17.5 to 35A, depending on LED type and brightness. Assume 2V per LED, that's from 100mW to 70W, roughly. Probably slightly higher.

how about resistors or anything else… Im a noob to this kind of stuff. I can read electrical diagrams no problem since im in hvac controls field.

Would someone be able to write up a quick small diagram. Also how many leds do you think will need to light up a small 8 feet by 9 room.

Kind of depends on the color type of the LEDs. Standard red LEDs have a nominal forward voltage drop of 1.5vdc and are normally run at 20ma of current. So 50 or 100 would require 1.5 or 3 watts of power respectively, not accounting for needed current limiting resistors dissipation.

How best to wire them up depends on what external power source you have available, it's voltage and max current ratings. You will also have to make sure you have proper LED current limiting by use of resistor(s). The switching part would be performed by an external transistor and dimming them would only involve using a Arduino PWM output pin and the correct sketch programming.

Lefty

What would be the best way to supply the 3 watts.

Would love to eventually maybe add a small solar panel that can product that power and a battery to charge.

But for now I will supply the power I only have power source right now 24Volts, 12dc 5dc and 3dc