Precision voltmeter (+-3mv) for high school biology research

Thank you for reading this post!

I am a high school student with very little knowledge in programming, and hardly no knowledge of the Arduino. In my biology research I have to read precise voltage (maximum error of about 3 millivolts if possible) between two points on a large cell (5cm-10cm diameter), have my laptop analyze the data, and send corresponding stimuli (fairly strong light) to the cell.

I am having trouble with the first step: reading voltage.

I have come to the conclusion that it is best to use Arduino for the whole project, but can I read such precise voltage by 1) using 1.1V internal reference; 2) amplifying signal (if so, how can I?); or 3) a completely different method?

I am sorry if this is a stupid newbie question. Thank you for reading! Solutions will be much appreciated!

Extra information: •I have a Mac Book Pro with OS 10.8.5 •I have not purchased any Arduino equipment yet

Using the 1.1V reference gives the resolution of 1.1/1024 = 0.000107V with a mega328's 10 AD converter. Also the input impedance of the analog input is very high, so will not load your measured value. What are the amplitudes of the values you wish to measure?

@Jokkun Interesting research topic, can you tell more about it?

groundfungus: What are the amplitudes of the values you wish to measure?

Thank you for your reply! The range should be [-50mv, 50mv].

@ robtillaart Thank you! My subject is the plasmodial slime mold, physarum polycephalum. It is unicellular and multinucleate, and it forms a large "supercell." Though it looks like a slimy abomination, it is a model organism for conducting some unicellular studies. In my research I will concentrate on its shuttle streaming (moving of intracellular fluid). Since its outer layer is made of actin-myosin filaments, I will analyze its shuttle streaming through voltage occilitation.

For those not knowing the potential of these slime molds: