Presence/Absence Detection System

Hey all,

I’m new with Arduino and I want to learn if it’s feasible to perform my project with arduino R3 & its shields.

I want to check the presence/absence of components on a part.

Step by step, machine need to be worked like below;

1. Push start button and Fix the part on a jig with a linear servo or pneumatic controlled clamps.

2. Detect missing components:

a. If there’s any missing component, Show the missing component with red ligh on picture which has LEDs for components and buzzer will make a sound for that.
Press “missing component button” to release the part from jig.
Put missing component on main part and push start button again.

b. If there no missing component, put a mark on the back side (like put a dot with a needle or put a sticker or etc…) and all LEDs will have green light then release the part fixations.

Please find the image below for my project b. I’ll kindly request you to help me about the feasibility of this project. If you’ve any question, please do not hesitate to ask me.

Thanks in advance,

Presence and absence detection.png

For the future it will be easier for people here if you attach your images as jpg files so we don't have to download anything. See this Image Guide

Are you expecting the Arduino to attach the fabric to the jig or will that be done by a person (or an existing machine).

Or is it the components that will be in the jig?

Will the components always be in the same place?
Are all the components identical?

if the components are metal would it be possible to touch the place with a pair of metal probes and pass a small current to detect the part?

I think you need to provide a lot more information. Do you have any photos of the actual thing you want to check?

Would it be an option to use a camera and image recognition software to do the job? However an Arduino would not be powerful enough to do that.

...R