Press push button differnt times to get differnt led output lengths

This may seem easy I am new to programming and assume there is just some code I just dont know. But here is my problem.

I have a push button turning on an led and it lights in a particular sequence. But then I want it to light differntly the next time the push button is pressed.

Here is the code I have that works for the first press fine:

const int buttonPin = 2; // the number of the pushbutton pin const int ledPin = 12; // the number of the LED pin

// variables will change: int buttonState = 0; // variable for reading the pushbutton status

void setup() { // initialize the LED pin as an output: pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // initialize the pushbutton pin as an input: pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT); }

void loop(){ // read the state of the pushbutton value: buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

// check if the pushbutton is pressed. // if it is, the buttonState is HIGH: if (buttonState == HIGH) { // turn LED on: digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); delay(5000); digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); delay(1000); digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); delay(3000); } else { // turn LED off: digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); }

I then added:

if (buttonState == HIGH) { // turn LED on: digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); delay(100); digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); delay(300); digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); delay(100); } else { // turn LED off: digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); } }

The idea was it would then use that the next time the push button was hit instead it looks like it just cycles through the whole thing. Right now the whole thing is

const int buttonPin = 2; // the number of the pushbutton pin const int ledPin = 12; // the number of the LED pin

// variables will change: int buttonState = 0; // variable for reading the pushbutton status

void setup() { // initialize the LED pin as an output: pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // initialize the pushbutton pin as an input: pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT); }