Pressure controlled led

Afternoon,

I've stumbled across here in the hope that somebody might be able to help me with a little query. I'm not a programmer and don't really understand how the Arduino works at all but have seen lots of cool projects that it controls this might be the solution I am looking for.

What i need to achieve is a way of changing the color of RGB LED tape when somebody jumps on a pressure switch. Would anybody on here have an idea to make this work?

Many Thanks Alex

Do you have a particular switch in mind as there are both analogue (value changes on amount of pressure) and digital (value is either HIGH/LOW depending if pressed or not). Someone jumping on a switch means it needs to be quite robust and first though would be a hall sensor and a magnet that measure the deflection of the surface being jumped on. As it would be a non contact switch it should not suffer wear and tear like a normal switch would and excess pressure sould not break it if you have some form of mechanical stop on the surface deflection.

Thank for the reply, as for the switch i'd guess at a digital one. All that needs to happen is when the switch is jumped on the box lights up, and changes its color each time its jumped on, would be good if it could mix between the RGB too.

There's a function in Arduino that generates a random number, whose lower and upper limits can be set by command.

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/Random

So each time the button is pressed (or jumped on 8) ), generate 3 randoms each from 0-255 and use the command digitalWrite() to send those values to the 3 colour legs of the LED.

aburrows94: Thank for the reply, as for the switch i'd guess at a digital one. All that needs to happen is when the switch is jumped on the box lights up, and changes its color each time its jumped on, would be good if it could mix between the RGB too.