Pressure Gauge of LED's

I'm building a pressure gauge that will be made of a circle of 50 led's. I will have a transducer on one of the analog pins and will use that data to tell which led's to turn on. Pretty simple. The question is this... Would it be easier to...

• Use the Duemilanove I already have and charlieplex/multiplex, and/or use an led driver. I have only read on the forum here and wikipedia about charlieplexing and multiplexing; have no experience with.

• Buy an Arduino Mega in which I would have plenty of digital pins to control the led's w/out a "middle man".

• Some other option that I haven't even thought of.

Thanks.

Couple of questions...

• Could it keep multiple lights on at once? As pressure climbs, I want the led's that have already been turned on to stay on.

• "sends out some quantity of ONEs" - would that be done digitally or with an analog pin? Sorry, I have no experience with shift registers.

Here's a CAD drawing of what I'm doing... C:\Users\JD\Desktop\gauge panel.jpg

The pic was a jpeg but the link points to

http://c/Users/JD/Desktop/gauge%20panel.jpg

Probably not going to work :)

Ha, yeah. Not at my work computer anymore. Noticed it didn't work, but was in a hurry. How would I post it properly? Thanks for the help. I'm sure I can find a tutorial somewhere on shift registers to figure out the code. Sounds like the route I want to go. Thanks again.

Thanks. I'll post the finished product.

One more question...

I will actually have (3) gauges total on my panel. Could my Duemilanove handle all (3) of the gauges, that consist of 50 led's each? I was reading and thought I saw some other types of shift registers that run off a seperate power supply. Thanks.

I will actually have (3) gauges total on my panel. Could my Duemilanove handle all (3) of the gauges, that consist of 50 led's each? I was reading and thought I saw some other types of shift registers that run off a seperate power supply. Thanks.