Prevent data loss over bluetooth

Hi,

as I am new to transfer protocols and can't seem to find the answer on the web (probably because I'm looking in the wrong places), I'd like to ask my question here.

I want to build a control which interfaces the Arduino with a phone App. To connect the devices I would like to use bluetooth. What I am not sure of is what happens when data is sent via the wireless connection and for whatever reason the connection is lost. As I understand, the UART serial port of the Arduino should check if the transmission finished correctly. Can I catch the error if it didn't? Is there already a "right" way to do this and maybe trigger a reconnect and try to send again for x seconds and if not throw an exception? Or is there a hardware buffer in the bluetooth chips, which will store the information to be sent and do the above and when it fails this is the error we get in the software?

I hope I am not to confuse about this but I am just starting to learn on connections and connection protocols. Related links or pointers to good books are also appreciated!

Btw. the transmission of the data should be save enough to trust the Arduino with a 1800 W heater.

Best,
Nico

kerl:
Btw. the transmission of the data should be save enough to trust the Arduino with a 1800 W heater.

What are the consequences of the 1800W heater being on or off (permanently?) when it should not be ?

kerl:
As I understand, the UART serial port of the Arduino should check if the transmission finished correctly.

No it does not.

The UART may think the data has left the UART but there could be a hardware fault and the UART would not know.

Neither does the UART know if the data has been received, without error, which is why there are send and acknowledge type protocols.