Printing data using SoftwareSerial for UNO

I'm a newbie, so any advice is appreciated as I'm still learning about serial communication.

I am trying to program a Plantower PMS5003 particulate sensor and print the data using the IDE serial monitor. I'm using an UNO which only has one hardware serial port (D0, D1), so I believe I have to use the SoftwareSerial library (or another similar library) as I need 2 serial comms (one for printing and one for the sensor).

Here is my code where I use SoftwareSerial to communicate with the sensor, and print the data with the hardware port:

#include "PMS.h"
#include "SoftwareSerial.h"

SoftwareSerial softSerial(2, 3); //(RX, TX)

PMS pms(softSerial);
PMS::DATA data;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);   // Hardware serial port: prints data
  softSerial.begin(9600);  // Software serial port: communicates w/ PMS5003 sensor via pms() library
}

void loop()
{
  if (pms.read(data)){

Serial.print("PM 2.5 (ug/m3): ");
    Serial.println(data.PM_AE_UG_2_5);
    Serial.println();
    delay(1000);
  }
}

The above code works well and prints out the values as expected. Although, I imagine I would have more reliable results if I do the inverse and instead have the hardware port (D0, D1) connected to the sensor. I tried the code and wiring below, but got no output. Does this make sense how I'm approaching this?

Sensor TX -> Arduino TX (D0)
Sensor RX -> Arduino TX (D1)

#include "PMS.h"
#include "SoftwareSerial.h"

SoftwareSerial softSerial(2, 3); //(RX, TX)

PMS pms(Serial);
PMS::DATA data;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);   // Hardware serial port: communicates w/ PMS5003 sensor via pms() library
  softSerial.begin(9600);  // Software serial port: prints data
}

void loop()
{
  if (pms.read(data)){

softSerial.print("PM 2.5 (ug/m3): ");
    softSerial.println(data.PM_AE_UG_2_5);
    softSerial.println();
    delay(1000);
  }
}