printing previous sensor value prior to current sensor value

Hi guys,

I'm looking for a little help in printing a previous sensor value on the ILI9340 tft prior to the current value. Instead of filling the screen with black to 'refresh' it I want to use the 'print previous' method to 'refresh' only the pixels that have changed etc.

Currently I am drawing a small black rectangle over the text but cant for the life of me figure out how to store the previous value etc.

I have searched around, and found some solutions but as I'm fairly new to C++ and Arduino (2 weeks), my lack of knowledge seems to be the downfall!

Below is the function I wish to modify:

void printTemperature(DeviceAddress deviceAddress, int x, int y, int Set)
{

float tempC = sensors.getTempC(deviceAddress);
float setTemp = Set;
String sepText = "   ";

tft.setCursor(x, y);
tft.fillRect(x, y, 80, 10, ILI9340_BLACK);
tft.setTextColor(ILI9340_WHITE);
tft.print(setTemp);
tft.print(sepText);
tft.print(tempC);

}

The whole sketch is rather large, so if any other information is required, please let me know.

Cheers

Mark

Currently I am drawing a small black rectangle over the text.

Yes that is the way it is normally done.

but cant for the life of me figure out how to store the previous value etc

Basically you can't except by copying all the pixels from that area of the display's buffer into an array. This will take much longer to do than draw the black box so I am not sure it is worth it.

I'm not 100% sure I understand what you're trying to do. It seems you have already displayed the current value, but then before you display the new current value, you want to move the old current value (which is now the previous value) and display it as well?

If so, perhaps before you read the new current value into current value, save the old current value as previous. Then display previous in its place (effectively moving he old current value) and the new current in its place.