Printing variable length Strings

Hi All, I have been programming Pascal for many many years and struggling with C++ a bit. In the following code, I know the max length lenBlanks will never be more than 5, so the 10-blanks will never be exceeded. I found strcpy( and strncpy( but can't seem to get it to do what I need. Do I have to first set up a string with the 10-blanks or what?

void lcdPrintInt(byte aCol, byte aRow, int anInt, byte lenBlanks)
{
  if (blanks > 0) // I need to clear the old longer data
  { lcd.setCursor(aCol,aRow);
// In Pascal I would do this...
// lcd.print(Copy('          ',1,lenBlanks));  // Start at position 1 and copy lenBlanks
  }
  lcd.setCursor(aCol,aRow);
  lcd.print(anInt);
}

Thanks

This can be as simple as one sprintf call to fill a buffer with your number, justified left or right as you choose, and padded with spaces or zeroes.

I'm not exactly sure what you want it to look like at the end, but the answer you seek lies in the google results for "C++ sprintf"

Most of the C string function follow a parameter sequence of "destination, source". So, for string copy, it is:

strcpy(char *destination, const char *source);

The const keyword prevents the function from messing around with the source of the copy. strncpy() is much the same, but adds a third argument to specify the number of characters to copy from source to destination:

strncpy(char *destination, const char *source, size_t charsToCopy);

Many LCD displays (and their libraries) require that numeric variables be converted to a string format before displaying them. If yours is like that, you need to add a few lines:

void lcdPrintInt(byte aCol, byte aRow, int anInt, byte lenBlanks)
{
   char buffer[10];

memset(buffer, ' ', sizeof(buffer) );        // Set all elements to space
   lcd.setCursor(0, aRow);                      // Set cursor to start of the row
   lcd.print(buffer);                           // Clear the row