Pro micro issues after usin ISP

Hi all,

Total noob to this so apologies in advance.

I’m trying to make a button box for PC gaming. I have followed some online tutorials and have downloaded a sketch to run the box. Sketch designed for a pro micro.

I’m have purchased a few pro micro boards online, not originals, copies.

The first thing I noticed was that when connected to the Arduino sketch software the boards show up as Lilypads, not micros.

I tried to load the sketch into the board with Arduino Micro as the board type and on both boards the “Bricked?”, I.E no longer recognised as a USB device.

SO, having searched online and found I can use my uno as an ISP and reload the bootloader, I tried that. connected it all up, found the correct pins etc, ran the Arduino micro board bootloader and all seemed to work, had no errors on the leds, and no errors on the sketch.

But its still not working, just that now after the bootloader install, whilst the red LED is lit on the pro micro, its not being recognised and the reset function doesn’t do a thing.

I’ve ordered some more pro micro boards as well as a Leonardo to try them tomorrow but it could get expensive.

Any advice much appreciated.

Stiggie

Please post a link to the product you bought.

Names and descriptions of clone boards are sometimes misleading.

A pair of these.

Thanks.

The LilyPad runs at 8 MHz, while the genuine Pro Micro, Micro, and Leonardo run at 16 MHz. The fact it was identified as a LilyPad makes me suspect the board you got has an 8 MHz crystal/resonator.

If so, when you uploaded a sketch that was compiled for the 16 MHz clock of the Micro, it caused the timing sensitive USB code to stop working (because it was running at half speed). This explains why it was no longer recognized. Then when you burned the Micro’s bootloader to the board, the same happened, since that bootloader was compiled for a 16 MHz clock.