if(ESPserial.available()){
    Serial.println("ESP written");
    ESPserial.write("A");
    }
    delay(1000);
    Serial.println( ESPserial.read());
  }

}

So, here is my code, and I’m totally new in arduino.
Pin 2 and 3 are connected with each other.
I supposed ESPserial.read should get the char “A”, but it’s not. And ESPserial.available can never be reached.
I want esp to communicate with itself, so that I can check the output and input functions of this chip are working properly. Later I will connect it to another micro controller, so it’s important to make this part to work.
If there is anything I missed? Thank you guys…

fisherxx:

#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial ESPserial(2, 3); // RX | TX

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
  ESPserial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println(“initial ready”);
}

void loop() {
  while(Serial.available()>0){
    Serial.println(“available”);

if(ESPserial.available()){
    Serial.println(“ESP written”);
    ESPserial.write(“A”);
    }
    delay(1000);
    Serial.println( ESPserial.read());
  }

}

So, here is my code, and I'm totally new in arduino. 
Pin 2 and 3 are connected with each other.
I supposed ESPserial.read should get the char "A", but it's not. And ESPserial.available can never be reached. 
I want esp to communicate with itself, so that I can check the output and input functions of this chip are working properly. Later I will connect it to another micro controller, so it's important to make this part to work. 
If there is anything I missed? Thank you guys...