Problem Analyzing Serial Input of a Spectrum.

Hello everyone, I am new to arduino.I have been in trouble for quite a long time with this. I have a project which consists of obtaining Labview serial input of a Spectrum .I need to take each value (x,y)=(dB,Hz) of the real time Spectrum and check if it is over a reference value. This Spectrum input is sent as a string at my Arduino Uno. I know I have established communication. What i don't know is how i would be sure that the first two values that come to Arduino are dB and then Hz (or the opposite) and if that's the way that the values are arriving to Arduino how i am going to store it as a double (or float) and deal with each seperately.

I am looking forward to hearing from all of you. You would be of a GREAT help ! Thank you very much in advance.

See Serial Input Basics.

What i don't know is how i would be sure that the first two values that come to Arduino are dB and then Hz

You must make sure that the two values are uniquely identified, as transmitted.

Hi and thank you very much for your imidiate reply. I have read this post and i am not sure how this can help me. Ok it says a lot about receiving characters but i don't understand how i am supposed to distinguish the points (x,y) or (dB ,Hz) from each other so that i can process them. Thank you in advance

Ok it says a lot about receiving characters but i don't understand how i am supposed to distinguish the points (x,y) or (dB ,Hz) from each other so that i can process them.

Step 1: Send them intelligently. Step 2: Parse the KNOWN string that you get.

Which step are you stuck on?

it says a lot about receiving characters

So, you did not even notice the part about the packet start and end markers?

I suggest to read it more carefully.

RaMoNikOs: but i don't understand how i am supposed to distinguish the points (x,y) or (dB ,Hz) from each other so that i can process them.

That depends on the format you're using to send them, which you haven't told us.