Problem arduino IDE not recognising Pololu 3pi board

Hi Guys,

I've recently purchased a pololu 3pi robot kit and AVR programmer for my teenage son to play with and to learn more about programming and electronics.

He is more or less a beginner, but very interested in robots and programming them. (I am a beginner too so trouble shooting is a challenge). We have played with Arduino on and off over about 12months, and he can program an array of LEDs to flash and has a fairly good beginners understanding of circuits and components.

The problem I have is Arduino IDE won't recognise the Pololu board. I have downloaded Pololu libraries and can access example sketches through Arduino. Arduino does not show the Pololu 3pi board in the list of boards in the Tools menu. When I first loaded the pololu libraries, the pololu 3pi board was visible in the tools menu, but after restarting Arduino, I can no longer see the pololu board.

I have tried reinstalling Arduino, and re-saving the Pololu libraries with no change.

I want to stick with using Arduino IDE to program the 3pi as my son is familiar with it and is starting to get a handle on it. I don't want to have to use Atmel Studio, it is too different, jargon is different., I don't want my boy to have to relearn all this stuff.

Any help with this would be great. At the moment, I have an expensive paper weight with wheels on it.

Please follow the instructions here: https://www.pololu.com/docs/0J17/3

thanks.

I've done that, re-done that, un-installed and re-installed that, and still not getting anywhere.

I'm hoping someone has found a solution to this.

any suggestions appreciated

cheers

Which version of the Arduino IDE are you using?

the current version from the website 1.6.13

Try this:

Works for me.

thanks pert

ive done that. I still have the same result. I can open sketches from the pololu library, just cant see the pololu board from Arduino IDE