problem calling external functions

hi everyone,

i am sure that is a stupid question but i am new to programming and not sure how to do this.

in my sketch i am calling a function named sendSms(), and inside of it i want to execute another function named waitForAnswer. The sendSms function does its job, but when its time to execute waitForAnswer it doesn’t give any time for the user to reply.

Can i handle it with a simple delay() on top of the second function?

Here is the code i am using:

void sendSms()
 {
  Serial1.print("AT+CMGF=1\r");    //SEND THE SMS IN TEXT MODE
  delay(100);
  Serial1.println("AT + CMGS = \"+30xxxxxxxxxx\"");    
  delay(100);
  Serial1.println("New Data:");     
 // Serial1.print(dat);               
  Serial1.println(data.temperature);              
  Serial1.println(data.humidity);               
  Serial1.print(data.soil);              
  delay(100);                       
  Serial1.println((char)26);        
  delay(100);                       
  Serial1.println();          
  lcd.clear();
  lcd.setCursor(0,0);
  lcd.print("Please wait");  
  lcd.clear();
  lcd.setCursor(0,1);
  lcd.print("For Answer");
  delay(20000);
  waitForAnswer();  
 }

void waitForAnswer()  {

if (Serial1.available() > 0)    //If a character comes in from the Serialular module...
  {
    delay(10);
    inchar = Serial1.read();
    if (inchar == '0')        
    {

inchar = Serial1.read(); //read next char  '#'
      if (inchar == '#')
      {
        inchar = Serial1.read(); //read next char 
        if (inchar == 'a')
        {
          digitalWrite(relay_1, LOW);
        }
        else if (inchar == 'A')
        {
          digitalWrite(relay_1, HIGH);
        }
        else if (inchar == 'b')
        {
          digitalWrite(relay_2, LOW);
        }
        else if (inchar == 'B')
        {
          digitalWrite(relay_2, HIGH);
        }
         else if (inchar == '0')
        {
          digitalWrite(relay_1, LOW);
          digitalWrite(relay_2, LOW);