Problem decreasing LED brightness

Hi.
I'm a beginner, both in electronics and Arduino, so sorry if I say stupid things. Plese, may you help me?
This is my 2nd project. Simply, I'm trying to change the brightness of a led using a IR controller. When user press a button, I check if led is on. If so, I read current led value and I decrease it one unit. This is my code:

if (digitalRead(redLed) == 1) 
    {
      Serial.println("Red led On");
      currentValue = analogRead(redLed);
      if(currentValue>1)
      {
          Serial.println("Current value: " + String(currentValue));
          analogWrite(redLed, currentValue - 1);
          Serial.println("New value: " + String(analogRead(redLed)));
      }
    }

And this is serial monitor result:

//first button press
Red led On
Current value: 490
New value: 489

//second button press
Red led On
Current value: 296
New value: 297

1, Why 2nd time a I press the button, current value is 296 and not 489?

1. Why new value is 297 and not 295?? (296-1)

Thankyou

1. you are using the analogRead() function, the value will be changed, and even unpredictable if you do not connect the input pin to a sensor.
  2. The value from analogRead() is obviously different from analogWrite(). These function are do unrelated things (read voltage and write PWM, respectively)

AnalogWrite is a badly named function. It generates PWM that works like this
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Tutorial/PWM.html
It can only be used in PWM capable pins, denoted by a ~ in front of the pin number.
The range you can use to set the brightness is 0 to 255.

AnalogRead will read an analogue voltage on a pin. It can only be used on pins that can be changed into an analogue input. It takes the voltage range 0 to 5V and returns a number from 0 to 1023.