Problem executing a single interrupt on digital output while executing void loop

New here, Hi folks. I am trying to muddle my way through the above. I am new to programming, but slowly learning.

I am trying to generate a reset on the Arduino after a coupled Wemos D1 has connected to the internet. I don't want to have to generate a delay in the Arduino boot, that may be short or long, due to possible changes in the time that it takes to connect. I would like to have the Arduino boot as soon as is practicable. I have tried
while(1) {}
while(true) {}
boolean = true/false.
These either send the Arduino cyclic reset or do nothing. I have even tried connecting a FET to the Arduino reset, but whatever I did, the reset stayed low.

My question is, is there a way that a "one-shot" reset can be generated by the Wemos from the loop, that will not wreck the running of the other processes of the loop? I am currently using (attempting to use) the Wemos D1, as I don't have an Arduino WiFi shield, but I guess that the code would be the same anyway. Thanks in eager anticipation......

CGMarsh:
is there a way that a "one-shot" reset can be generated by the Wemos from the loop, that will not wreck the running of the other processes of the loop?

An Arduino has only one process - if you cause a reset then everything is reset.

There should be no need for any reset if a program is written correctly.

Post your program so we can see what you are talking about.

...R

#define BLYNK_PRINT Serial

#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <BlynkSimpleEsp8266.h>

char auth = “My authentication token in here”;

// Your WiFi credentials.
// Set password to “” for open networks.
char ssid = “my ssid”;
char pass = “my password”;
int reset = D4; // Pin is active high and connected to Arduino reset pin through 10k resistor
// switched by FET

void setup(){
Serial.begin(9600); // Start serial monitor

pinMode(reset, OUTPUT); //Set up D4 pin on Wemos D1 to output