Problem getting the correct speed on my NEMA17+A4489+potentiometer project

Hi everyone,
I'm very new to Arduino but I want to build a pickup winder, here is my problem:

my project is using

• an A4988 stepper driver
  • a NEMA17 stepper motor (model 17HS4023, 1,8 step angle, 12V, 0,7/phase, 4 wires); Vref screw is set to 0,48V
  • a 10K potentiometer
  • an Arduino uno

For this project I used the codes on this page https://miliohm.com/how-to-drive-a-stepper-motor-easily-using-a4988-and-arduino/, and my wiring follows the diagram shown in that page.

The first code works very well, I can modify the stepDelay time in microseconds and it effectively changes the speed of the stepper, I can go to 320 microseconds and that's about the speed I actually want for my pickup winder.

Here's the code:

// Define pin connections & motor's steps per revolution
const int dirPin = 2;
const int stepPin = 3;
const int stepsPerRevolution = 500;
int stepDelay=2000;

void setup()
{
// Declare pins as Outputs
pinMode(stepPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(dirPin, OUTPUT);
}
void loop()
{
//clockwise
digitalWrite(dirPin, HIGH);

// Spin motor
for(int x = 0; x < stepsPerRevolution; x++)
{
digitalWrite(stepPin, HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(stepDelay);
digitalWrite(stepPin, LOW);
}
delay(1000); // Wait a second

//counterclockwise
digitalWrite(dirPin, LOW);

// Spin motor
for(int x = 0; x < stepsPerRevolution; x++)
{
}
delay(1000); // Wait a second
}
Citation

My problem is that I want a potentiometer to control the speed of the stepper. To do that I hooked up a potentiometer as shown in the diagram, and put it on A0;