Problem making AVR assembler work in the Arduino IDE

I am a beginner! I have the latest Arduino IDE (1.8.3 I believe ) installed on my other computer. I am learning to do AVR assembler out of a bunch of books.

All is well and I am writing functions, getting values, twiddling ports and pins to my heart's delight... Except some things just won't compile.

MyArray: .DB 1,2,3,4,5,6
will not assemble.

.DEF statements will not either

LPM will not put the value found at the address (specified in the Z register) into R0

I can work around all these but I still would like it all to work "right" and as it should. I will not be supprised if I come across more things that should work but don't.
Aside from these and a few other glitches I seem to be able to write small, elementary code and verify the returned values are correct.

My question is there a list of know issues trying to do AVR assembler in the Arduino IDE and any workarounds?

Thanks in advance.

PS: If someone can tell me the exact assembler that is under the hood and maybe point me to its manual I would apreciate it very much.

If someone can tell me the exact assembler that is under the hood and maybe point me to its manual I would apreciate it very much.

It's GNU-as, the executable is called 'avr-as' (or 'avr-as.exe' in that ancient other OS). As far as I find in the documentation .def is supported (in the GNU world it's lower case), .db doesn't seem supported. The LPM instruction does work to my knowledge.

pylon: Thank you. Do you have a URL for the documentation?

I mostly use This Site for explaining the gnu assembler syntax and options. It's actually for a different CPU, but the nice part of the gnu assembler is that except for the cpu instructions themselves, the syntax remains pretty constant.

MyArray: .DB 1,2,3,4,5,6
will not assemble.

.DEF statements will not either

The gnu equivalent of .DB is ".byte"