Problem reading Serial

I’m new to Arduino, and i cant get this problem solved.

I have a device (Lutron HT-315) that send data via RS-232 serial, and want to read the data with an Arduino with a “RS232 to TTL DTE” shield.

The data send have a RS232 FORMAT : 9600, N, 8, 1 and send 16 digits.

I can read the data from the device (HT-315) in the computer with a USB-to-Serial Adapter, but not in the Arduino.

To test if the shield was fine i use a second Arduino with a “RS232 to TTL DCE” and can send data between Arduinos just fine.

I use this code from a tutorial to test the data between Arduinos

int incomingByte = 0;	// for incoming serial data

void setup() {
	Serial.begin(9600);	// opens serial port, sets data rate to 9600 bps
}

void loop() {

// reply only when you receive data:
	if (Serial.available() > 0) {
		// read the incoming byte:
		incomingByte = Serial.read();

// say what you got:
		Serial.print("I received: ");
		Serial.println(incomingByte, DEC);
	}
}

One thing i notice is that Serial.available() is not triggering with the HT-315.

Any idea what i can do?

You need to post a link to the datasheet for your HT-315 and for the "RS232 to TTL DTE" shield.

Also a photo of a drawing showing how you have everything connected. See this Simple Image Guide

And have a look at the examples in Serial Input Basics - simple reliable ways to receive data.

...R

This is the RS232 to TTL schematic: Link to PDF
And the user guide: User Guide

This is a photo of two Arduinos (One MEGA and a NANO) using the serial to share data:

Using the sketch from the tutorial i see this in the serial monitor:

I received: H
I received: e
I received: l
I received: o

So the serial communication is working
This is the Arduino with the DTE:

And the Arduino with the HT-315:

I can´t get any data from the device.

This is the device connected to the computer:

And the data in the serial monitor: