Problem Receiving SysEx Messages

Hello all,

This is my first Arduino project and first time posting and just so you understand, I’m not a programmer, more of a musician!

So here’s where I need help:

I’m working on a MIDI controller to control a proprietary soft synth. I’m using a Mega 2560 R3 with a 74HC4067 multiplexer to control my 22 buttons and 24 pots matching the same on the soft synth UI and I got them to work perfectly. I also have 3 LEDs matching the 3 LEDs on the synth.

That’s where it gets more difficult for me...
One of the 22 buttons is called Group and it controls two LEDs called Group A and Group B.
A second button called Panel controls the third LED. When I launch the synth normally only Group A LED is on while Group B and Panel LEDs are off.

Now, Group A and Group B LEDs can turn On or Off without me pressing the Group button if for example I press the Program button to select a new sound and that sound has been programmed let’s say with only Group B. In that case Group A LED would turn Off and Group B would turn On.

That’s why the creator of the synth made it so the state of the LEDs is sent out from the synth as Sysex messages and not just from the pressing of the Group button. There are eight messages to cover the eight states that are possible:

SOX ID Sub Com Lng Data EOX - n = MIDI channel
—————————————————————————————-
F0 29 5n 10 01 00 F7 - all 3 LEDs off
F0 29 5n 10 01 01 F7 - Group A LED on
F0 29 5n 10 01 02 F7 - Group B LED on
F0 29 5n 10 01 03 F7 - Group A + Group B LEDs on
F0 29 5n 10 01 04 F7 - Second Panel LED on
F0 29 5n 10 01 05 F7 - Group A + Second Panel LED on
F0 29 5n 10 01 06 F7 - Group B + Second Panel LED on
F0 29 5n 10 01 07 F7 - Group A + Group B + Second Panel LED on

Since these are static Sysex messages it should be fairly easy to create an if or a case statement to listen to the message that comes in, do a compare and match and turn on the appropriate LEDs.