Problem running a motor

I am new to electronics, and I’m trying to run a simple DC motor (Mabuchi 130 motor) off my Ardunio UNO R3. I have read that it is best to use an external power source (like a 9V battery), a motor shield, or an H-bridge (not sure what that is exactly), but the motor is so small, I think I SHOULD be able to run it directly from the Ardunio.

Here is the part: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0006O04EW/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I think this is probably the spec sheet (none was included in the shipping package).

http://www.hobbyengineering.com/specs/MABUCHI-fa130ra.pdf

There are only a black and a red wire which are attached to the motor (I assume power and ground).
I am trying to run it at 1.5V, which will require 0.2A, according to the spec sheet.

Therefore, the resistor I am using across the circuit should be:

R = V / I
= (pin output voltage – voltage drop across element) / current supplied to element
= (5V – 1.5V) / 0.2 A
= 3.5V / 0.2 A
= 17.5 ohm
However, when I put a 100 ohm (the smallest resistor I have) across the circuit, the motor does not run. Why is this, and what could be the cause?

All I am doing with the code is just setting pin 13 (the output) to HIGH, and then turning it on and off everything 2 seconds. Hey, it works with an LED…

I don't think you can do that sort of maths with a motor. When it is stationary or moving very slowly an electric motor has very little internal resistance and will draw a large current - the stall current is quoted as 2.2 amps.

The 0.2A you mention is the no-load current. You must design to accommodate the stall current.

You haven't said how you are planning to connect your motor to the Arduino. DON'T think of connecting it to a digital PWM pin (even with no load on the motor) as they can only supply a max of 40 mA.

...R

DC brushed motors have significant friction from the commutator (and because they don’t use