Problem sending char array from arduino to python using HC-05 and PyBlueZ

I have been trying to get a communication set-up between my raspberry pi model 3 B+ with PyBlueZ library for python 3 and my arduino uno with a HC-05 module in slave mode.

I have successfully paired and am able to send information both ways, however limited up to a couple of characters.

I could not find any solution on the internet, but I am also very new to networking and the HC-05 module so chances are also I don’t know the right place to look.

My Arduino code is as follows (see void openLock and void closeLock for where the sending part happens):

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

int dataReceived;
char lockedMsg[] = "Locked it";
char openMsg[] = "Opened it";

SoftwareSerial BTserial(10, 11);

void setup() {
  BTserial.begin(38400);
}

void loop() {
  if (BTserial.available() > 0) {   // Check if data is coming in from the serial port
    dataReceived = BTserial.read(); // Read data from the serial port
  }
  if (dataReceived == '1'){
    BTserial.write(openMsg);
    delay(500);
    dataReceived = 3; // Prevent infinite looping
  }
  else if (dataReceived == '0'){
    BTserial.write(lockedMsg);
    delay(500);
    dataReceived = 3; // Prevent infinite looping
  }
}

In python I have the following:

import bluetooth, subprocess

name = "HC-05"
passkey = "1234"
addr = "98:D3:21:F7:4C:33"

port = 1

try:
    s = bluetooth.BluetoothSocket(bluetooth.RFCOMM)
    s.connect((addr, port))
    data = input()
    s.send(data)
    data_received = s.recv(1024)
    print(data_received)
except bluetooth.btcommon.BluetoothError as err:
    print(err)
    pass

The only characters being printed is “Loc” or “Ope”. I don’t know if the error is in python or arduino and at this point I have no clue how to approach troubleshooting this.