Problem setting stepper motor speed to 1rpm.

Hello,
I must first say I’m a total noob in this and am very green, so pardon me if I seem to be asking very silly questions.
The problem I’m having is with the arduino UNO Stepper motor (the classic one, the 28BYJ-48) and I would like to make it do 1 revolution per minute, and would also like it to achieve maximum torque while doing it.
I have found some code online but I can’t get it to do the 1rpm, instead it does it slower.

#include <Stepper.h>
const int stepsPerRevolution = 32;  // change this to fit the number of steps per revolution
// for your motor

// initialize the stepper library on pins 8 through 11:
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 8, 9, 10, 11);

void setup() {
  // set the speed:
  myStepper.setSpeed(1);
  // initialize the serial port:
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop() {
  // step one revolution  in one direction:
  Serial.println("clockwise");
  myStepper.step(stepsPerRevolution);
  delay(500);
}

The main aim is for it to be a motorized barn door star tracker, that’s why it needs to be precisely 1rpm (according to the math hehe) and it also must achieve maximum torque in order to be able to move the DSLR.
Thank you very much in advance, and sorry if this question was posted before but I can’t seem to find it.

Arduino stepper library does only full-stepping (slightly less than 2048 steps per revolution for 28BYJ-48), which provides maximal torque compared to half-stepping or micro-strepping:

That guy made bipolar stepper from 28BYJ-48 and increased torque from 330gcm to 800gcm!

Now that I learned that bipolar has more torque than unipolar with same form factor, I understand that the microscope two-axis sliding-table stepper motors are bipolar:

When you allow for the gearbox a 28BYJ-48 stepper motor has 2048 steps per revolution.

...R

Robin2:
When you allow for the gearbox a 28BYJ-48 stepper motor has 2048 steps per revolution.