Problem switching between USB and external power

Hi all,

I have an UNO with a motor shield running a small stepper motor. For my project I basically run my motor forward at certain high input signals and backward at lower inputs. When I plug my board into my computer via USB and upload my program, everything runs perfectly. However, when I unplug the USB and plug in external power, my motor just starts running forward continuously.

I am using a 9V DC 1000mA external power source. My motor shield is operating from a separate power source. I was able to run a stepper motor test program using the external power source before.

Any ideas on the problem? Should I wait a few minutes between unplugging the USB and plugging in the external power?

Thanks

Do you have the grounds for the different sources connected to the Arduino ground?

I am new to this so please excuse my ignorance.

I am working with 3 boards: the UNO and motor shield that are stacked on top of each other, and a board that is generating the signal for the UNO/shield. All three have separate power. The signal board is grounded with the UNO/shield and the motor is grounded. That accounts for everything, unless I have to ground the 9V battery powering the shield.

You have to connect the 9V Battery- to the other grounds.

So before reading your last post I eliminated the 9V battery alltogether. I shunted the power from the Arduino (USB or external source) and was able to run my motor. With the USB plugged in, everything was going fine as usual. When I switched to the external wall power my motor just started going forward non-stop again. Am I still missing a ground? Is the difference in voltage supplied by the USB and external source (5V vs 9V) cauing the problem?

I also noticed that my motor is much louder with the external power than with USB power.

Is the difference in voltage supplied by the USB and external source (5V vs 9V) cauing the problem?