Problem understanding memory utilisation

Hi All

Im new to the Arduino and having a problem understanding how memory is utilised so started playing with Arduino Test Suite and finally ended up with this code.

#include "WProgram.h"
#include "HardwareSerial.h"
#include <ArduinoTestSuite.h>

int startMemoryUsage;
boolean test=false;

void setup()
{
  startMemoryUsage = ATS_GetFreeMemory();
  ATS_begin("Arduino", "Skeleton Test");
  ATS_ReportMemoryUsage(startMemoryUsage);
}

void loop()
{
if (test) 
   {
   ATS_ReportMemoryUsage(startMemoryUsage);
   }
delay(5000);
}

The ATS_ReportMemoryUsage command in setup() reports …FAIL as shown below. The reason being somehow is the call to ATS_ReportMemoryUsage call in loop(). If I comment this out the report is …ok. Im at a loss to understand why a call in loop() which hasnt been executed yet could have any effect on memory in the setup() stage. You will also note that due to the fact that the variable test is never set true the second call is never called anyway. Whats happening under the hood here that I dont understand.

info.MANUFACTURER    = Arduino
info.CPU-NAME        = ATmega328P
info.GCC-Version     = 4.3.2
info.AVR-LibC-Ver    = 1.6.4
info.Compiled-date   = Nov  8 2011
info.Test-Suite-Name = Skeleton Test
info.Free-memory     = 1445 bytes
Memory Usage (lost 54 bytes)                                ... FAIL

Thanks awfully
Kenneth

Try putting startMemoryUsage = ATS_GetFreeMemory(); AFTER ATS_begin("Arduino", "Skeleton Test");

I suspect that ATS_begin() is allocating 54 bytes of memory and therefore causes the appearance of a memory leak.

I briefly played with the test suite and couldn’t get it to work for me either. I went to using MemoryFree instead. Get it off the playground and simply include it:

#include <MemoryFree.h>