Problem using millis() with Adafruit Motorshield v2 & DC motor

Hello, this is my first time using “millis()” in my code and I have read the post on
“Demonstration code for several things at the same time” https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=223286.0 and adapted it to form the code below. I wish to sweep a DC motor backwards and forwards for a specified amount of time using an Adafruit motorshield v2, something that I achieved using “delay()” but when I run this code, my DC motor does not respond. I have read through many tutorials and have tried working through the code piece by piece but I do not know what the issue is. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

//LIBRARIES
#include <Wire.h>
#include <Adafruit_MotorShield.h>
#include "utility/Adafruit_MS_PWMServoDriver.h"
//CONSTANTS
Adafruit_MotorShield AFMS = Adafruit_MotorShield();
Adafruit_DCMotor *motorL = AFMS.getMotor(2);
const int motorLInterval = 2500;
const int motorSweepDuration = 1000; 
//VARIABLES
byte motorLState = FORWARD;
unsigned long currentMillis = 0;  
unsigned long previousMotorLMillis = 0;
//RUN ONCE
void setup() {
 Serial.begin(9600);
 Serial.println("Program Start");
 AFMS.begin();
 motorL->setSpeed(20);
}
//RUN LOOP
void loop() {
 currentMillis = millis();
 updateMotorLState();
 switchMotor();
}
//STATE UPDATE
void updateMotorLState() {
 if (motorLState == FORWARD) {
   if (currentMillis - previousMotorLMillis >= motorLInterval) {
      motorLState = BACKWARD;
      previousMotorLMillis += motorLInterval;
   }
 }
 else {
   if (currentMillis - previousMotorLMillis >= motorSweepDuration) {
      motorLState = FORWARD;
      previousMotorLMillis += motorSweepDuration;
   } 
 }    
}
//MOTOR SWITCH
void switchMotor() {
 digitalWrite(motorL, motorLState);
}

but I do not know what the issue is.

What do your Serial.print()s tell you is happening?

Why not?

Calling millis() is free. There is no reason to store the value in a global variable.

PaulS: