Problem using Potentiometer as analog dimmer

Hello,

I’m a fairly experienced novice with Arduino and have worked through the kit book and thought I had a decent handle on it, but I’m having an issue with a simple program (Sketch below). I’ve got my pot wired up as a an analog input but the analog pin doesn’t seem to be reading it. When I read the values on the pin using Serial.print it always returns “19” no matter the position of the dial on the pot. In fact, even when I unplug my pot from the bread board Serial.print still says the value on the A5 pin is “19”. I got similar results on Analog Pin 0.
Are my Analog input pins broken?!

Just FYI, The circuit works when I wire the lights to power and ground, and when I just put “digitalWrite(lightPin, 255);” in the loop function.

// simple pot controlled pwm lighting

const int dialPin = A5;
const int lightPin = 9;
int lightVal = 0;
int lightDialVal = 0;

void setup(){
  pinMode(lightPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dialPin, INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){  
  lightDialVal = analogRead(dialPin);
  delay(5);

Serial.println(dialPin);

lightVal = lightDialVal/4;

analogWrite(lightPin, lightVal);
  //digitalWrite(lightPin, 255);
}

You are printing the pin number and not the value read from it!

Right you are, Stowite! Thanks. However, I'm not out of the woods yet. I changed the code to print the lightVal on the line after I define lightVal = lightDialVal/4; Now I'm getting a serial print of "0".

Then you have either 1) wired it up wrong 2) have a faulty pot 3) have a faulty input pin. - try another pin

Measure the voltage on the processor pin and se if it changes with turning.

Grrr! I wired the pot wrong! I had double and triple checked, it, but... oh well. Thanks for the suggestion, Grumpy_Mike.

I have started to use Gray Code rotary switches as input rather than potentiometers. The only real downside is that they require two input pins rather than just one.

stowite: