Problem W/ Serial Communication Between ESP8266 and Elegoo Car Shield

I would first like to preface this by saying I am not an expert in Arduino Hardware/Software whatsoever. I am using the Elegoo Smart Robot Car Kit V3.0, and modifying it with an ESP8266 module.

The goal of my project is this: Make a ‘parking system’ of sorts wherein there is a parking space (which is an ESP8266 connected to an Ultrasonic Sensor) that is constantly publishing distances (in cm) to the Adafruit IO website. Then, I have the car with another ESP8266 connected to it; The ESP8266 on the car is subscribed to the feed, and this is as far as the project works. I want the car to move forward (using line-tracking code), have the parking space detect it, and finally have the ESP8266 on the car use SoftwareSerial to make the Smart Car stop and turn into the space.

The problem started when I tried to connect the ESP8266 and Smart Car Arduino Board together. The board on the car uses a special “Car Shield” module that you place on top of a normal Arduino Uno. I saw that in order to have Serial Communication, you have to connect the RX on one board to the TX on the other, and vice versa. However, when I have the boards connected like that, I get the error:
“esptool.FatalError: Failed to connect to ESP8266: Timed out waiting for packet header”

Here is the code I have for the ESP Module on the Car.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial transmitter(3, 1);
#include <Adafruit_MQTT.h>
#include <Adafruit_MQTT_Client.h>
#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>

#define R_SSID "ProjectMISTY"
#define PASS "whoreads"
#define AIO_SERVER "io.adafruit.com"
#define AIO_SERVERPORT 1883
#define AIO_USERNAME "Volthum"
#define AIO_KEY "15c716e5795a49dc84f008c4cbaeb9ad"
  WiFiClient client;
  Adafruit_MQTT_Client mqtt(&client, AIO_SERVER, AIO_SERVERPORT, AIO_USERNAME, AIO_KEY);
  Adafruit_MQTT_Subscribe distance123 = Adafruit_MQTT_Subscribe(&mqtt, AIO_USERNAME "/feeds/Distance");

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);