problem with 2004 20x4 i2c LCD

Hi guys,

I am a complete newbie so sorry if this is really stupid.

I have an Arduino Mega 2569 attached to an unbranded chinese LCD. The LCD is a serial enabled 2004A (I think it may be made by Sainsmart.) It’s an i2c 20x4 model.

I have wired it correctly I believe with the SCA and SCL lines going to their respective headers on pins 20 and 21 on the Mega, 5v and gnd.

The display is working, and is displaying text correctly, however the last 4 positions in rows 3 and 4 are lit up solid white, as in all pixels on. This does not seem to change regardless of what code I run.

The code I am running at the moment while trying to work out how to use the LCD is as follows

//YWROBOT
//Compatible with the Arduino IDE 1.0
//Library version:1.1
#include <Wire.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>

#if defined(ARDUINO) && ARDUINO >= 100
#define printByte(args)  write(args);
#else
#define printByte(args)  print(args,BYTE);
#endif

uint8_t bell[8]  = {0x4,0xe,0xe,0xe,0x1f,0x0,0x4};
uint8_t note[8]  = {0x2,0x3,0x2,0xe,0x1e,0xc,0x0};
uint8_t clock[8] = {0x0,0xe,0x15,0x17,0x11,0xe,0x0};
uint8_t heart[8] = {0x0,0xa,0x1f,0x1f,0xe,0x4,0x0};
uint8_t duck[8]  = {0x0,0xc,0x1d,0xf,0xf,0x6,0x0};
uint8_t check[8] = {0x0,0x1,0x3,0x16,0x1c,0x8,0x0};
uint8_t cross[8] = {0x0,0x1b,0xe,0x4,0xe,0x1b,0x0};
uint8_t retarrow[8] = {	0x1,0x1,0x5,0x9,0x1f,0x8,0x4};

LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x3f,F0,4);  // set the LCD address to 0x27 for a 16 chars and 2 line display

void setup()
{
  lcd.init();                      // initialize the lcd 
  lcd.backlight();

lcd.createChar(0, bell);
  lcd.createChar(1, note);
  lcd.createChar(2, clock);
  lcd.createChar(3, heart);
  lcd.createChar(4, duck);
  lcd.createChar(5, check);
  lcd.createChar(6, cross);
  lcd.createChar(7, retarrow);
  lcd.home();

lcd.print("Hello world...");
  lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
  lcd.print(" i ");
  lcd.printByte(3);
  lcd.print(" arduinos!");
  delay(5000);
  displayKeyCodes();

}

// display all keycodes